Cut Resistant Standard Changes

In January 2016 the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) introduced a new standard called the ANSI/ISEA 105. The goal for updating this standard was to create consistency between ANSI and EN388 methods as well as to account of the recent advances in cut resistant yarns and technologies. The European Norm (EN) standard is still in the revision process and will be released later in 2016.

What are the changes that are being made to the 2016 Cut Resistance standards?

• Both ANSI & EN 388 standards will now be required to measure cut resistance using the same machine: the TDM-100 machine
• The new 2016 ANSI cut test standard is called ASTM F2992-15
• In the 2016 En388 standard, it will be required that the EN ISO 13997 must also referenced on the En388 score as it
also uses the TDM-100 Machine

Because both the new ANSI F2992-15 cut test method and EN ISO 13997 use the TDM-100 machines,
their scores now will roughly correlate as you can see illustrated in the chart below.


The 2016 Cut Resistance Ratings System

The 2016 revision of the ANSI/ISEA 105 standard is a more expanded level of classification of cut resistance:
• The ANSI ASTM F2992-15 cut test method will feature 9 levels of cut resistance: A1-A9 with smaller increments
between levels
• Additional levels have also been added to the higher end of the cut resistance scale to account for new cut resistant materials and technologies coming on to the market.

For the EN 388 cut test ratings, both the Coup Test cut score and ISO 13997 rating will be required to be represented on the En 388 score
• The new ISO 13997 rating will be represented by the letters A-F at the end of the score
• The current Coup Test ratings of 1-5 will remain for now
• The European norm EN 388 standard is in the revision process and will be released in 2016

New EN 388 and ANSI Shields:

2016 EN388 Pictogram:
The new EN 388 rating will be scored from (A-F)

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 2.28.31 PM

2016 ANSI F2992-15 Icon:
The new ANSI ratings will be scored from A1-A9

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 2.28.39 PM

How Watson Gloves are changing

As leaders in the industry, most of the gloves in the Watson cut resistant line have already been tested in accordance to the new 2016 ANSI F2992-15 and ISO 13997 standards using the TDM-100 machine. In fact, 90% our cut resistant gloves have been compliant with this standard since 2011.
Over the next few months, we will start to transition the glove markings on our products to represent these new standards. To make the transition easier for you, our glove markings will for now include the old ANSI rating as well as the new rating shown below. The new EN388 TDM cut test will not be on our glove markings until the standard has been released which is set for the end of 2016.

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 11.42.15 AM

All of our marketing material as well as our website have been updated to reflect the new ANSI scores for easy reference.
Screen Shot 2016-07-21 at 11.01.32 AM

Screen Shot 2016-07-21 at 11.03.04 AM

Our trained sales team are here to help you make informed decisions when selecting the proper cut resistant gloves.
Please do not hesitate to ask us if you have any questions.

Download a PDF of this blog

Check out our Cut Resistant Gloves

3 comments on “Cut Resistant Standard Changes

  1. Bob on

    Would you please send me info on your cut resistant gloves rated for use with an olfa knife.

    Thank you

    • Laura on

      Hi Bob,

      The best cut glove to use with a olfa knife would be a glove that contains glass as it will dull the blade. Our 359 which is a cut level ANSI A2, EN388 4342 would be our best glove to recommended. If you need a glove with a higher cut rating then our 911 Stealth Dangerzone would be a good fit.

      Watch the PK video for Dangerzone:

      Watch the PK video for Stinger:

      if you’d like more information both are available on our website if you search the product number.

Comments are closed.