ANSI ASTM F2992-15 Cut Resistant Standard

ANSI/ISEA 105 is the North American standard for Protective Gloves Against Mechanical Risks. In 2016, the standard changed to create consistency between the ANSI and EN 388 test methods, which is called ASTM F2992-15. The 2016 revision of the ANSI/ISEA 105 standard is a more expanded level of classification of cut resistance. Both standards now use the TDM-100 machine for their cut test method.

The 2016 Cut Resistance Ratings System

ANSI/ISEA 105-2016

  • The ANSI ASTM F2992-15 cut test method features 9 levels of cut resistance: A1-A9 with smaller increments between levels
  • Additional levels have also been added to the higher end of the cut resistance scale to account for new cut resistant materials and technologies coming on to the market

EN 388 

  • For the EN 388 cut test ratings, both the Coup Test cut score and ISO 13997 rating are required to be represented on the En 388 score
  • The new ISO 13997 rating is represented by the letters A-F at the end of the score
  • The current Coup Test ratings of 1-5 remain the same


The ANSI 105-2016 Shield is represented with a cut rating from A1-A9.

The EN 388-2016 Shield shows two cut resistance ratings – the second column on the pictogram (Coup Test) and the fifth column (ISO 13997/TDM-100 Test).

Depending on cut resistance level, the following pictograms will be shown on packaging and marketing material:

The first chart below shows how the old ANSI 105-2011 rating system compares to the revised ANSI 105-2016 standard. The second chart shows how the new ANSI 105-2016 standard compares to the new EN 388 rating.

Choose the Right Glove for the Job

Click the button below to find the right ANSI 105 / EN 388 compliant gloves for your job.

Sign up for our newsletter!

Stay up to date with the latest Watson Gloves news, releases, and industry updates by signing up to our newsletter!